Skip to content
All posts

CyberNINES is now an Authorized C3PAO

CyberNINES first authorized CMMC Certified Third-Party Assessment Organization (C3PAO) in Wisconsin and Minnesota to Perform Cybersecurity assessments for the Department of Defense.

MADISON, WI, September 26, 2022  – CyberNINES LLC. a Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) has announced that it is the 26st company nation-wide and the first in Wisconsin and Minnesota to be authorized by the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Accreditation Body (The Cyber AB) as a CMMC Certified Third Party Assessment Organization (C3PAO).  CyberNINES successfully passed its CMMC Level 2 assessment administered by the Department of Defense Industrial Base Cybersecurity Assessment Center (DIBCAC) during the first week of August 2022.

The CMMC is a unified cybersecurity standard for Department of Defense (DoD) acquisitions which will boost the cybersecurity posture of the Defense Industrial Base (DIB). The CMMC assumes adherence to the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Special Publication (SP) 800-171 self-assessment model continuously used as the cybersecurity framework since 2017. This new certification will require third party evaluation of each business to determine whether a contractor is secure enough to work with the DoD and participate in the DIB. CMMC aims to ensure that all contractors dealing with the DoD can protect Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) and Federal Contract Information (FCI). 

“As a 30-year Navy veteran, protecting our nation has been a mission all my life.  I know I share that mission with everyone at CyberNINES,” said Scott Singer, President.  “By going through the vigorous process of being assessed by the DoD against all 110 NIST Practices and 320 Assessment Objectives, we are uniquely positioned to assist businesses prepare for compliance or conduct their third-party assessment.”    

As an authorized C3PAO, CyberNINES will initially offer three services to Organizations Seeking Certification (OSCs): CMMC Gap Assessments, CMMC Level 2 Readiness Reviews, and CMMC Level 2 Assessments (anticipated to begin soon with the voluntary assessment program).

About CMMC

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a major Department of Defense (DoD) program built to protect the defense industrial base (DIB) from increasingly frequent and complex cyber-attacks. It particularly aims to enhance the protection of controlled unclassified information (CUI) and federal contract information (FCI) shared within the DIB.

The Cyber AB

DoD website

Contact us for more information!